Sprint Football Earns 23 All-CSFL Selections

Follow @PennSprintFB

PHILADELPHIA – Penn was honored with 23 All-CSFL selections this week, third-most among Collegiate Sprint Football League selections.

The Quakers had seven first-team All-CSFL selections, led by Mike Beamish who was chosen first team at both running back and punter. Joining Beamish as first-team All-CSFL selections are Michael Bass (WR), Brendan Dale (TE), Donnie Kneisel (OL), Stu Helgeson (DB) and Ed Cai (DL).

Second-team All-CSFL selections for the Red and Blue include Mike McCurdy (QB), Freddy Ordonez (WR), Jordan Colbert (OL), Robert Diorio (LB) and Matt Pellegrino (LB).

Penn had 11 players named honorable mention All-CSFL, including Chris Nagle (OL), Matthew Paige (OL), Andrew Donald (WR), Joe Raso (RB), Jack Epstein (WR), Keith Braccia (WR), Derek Shnider (LB), Nick Rush (DB), Wesley Zhao (DB), Patrick Boyle (DL) and Carl Wittig (DL).

The two All-League honors for Beamish bring his total to six after three seasons with the Quakers. 2013 is the first year he has been named first-team at both running back and punter, and marks his third consecutive first-team All-CSFL selection at running back. He finished 2013 with 574 yards rushing and five touchdowns, averaging 4.9 yards-per-rush. Beamish led the CSFL in punt average at 39.4 yards-per-punt. He was called on to punt 37 times, leading the League with 1,456 total yards. He had three punts of 50+ yards, including a 57-yarder.

For the five players joining Beamish on the All-CSFL first team, the selection marks their first time so honored. Twice named All-CSFL as a placekicker, Michael Bass earned first-team All-CSFL honors as a wide receiver after finishing fourth in the League in receiving yards-per-game (59.9) and tying for second in receiving touchdowns with four.

Brendan Dale was second-team All-CSFL at tight end this season, and moved up to the first team based on his four touchdowns this year. Sophomore center Donnie Kneisel moved up from second-team All-CSFL to first-team All-CSFL in 2013, anchoring an offensive line that blocked for runners who averaged 140.1 yards-per-game and 10 touchdowns.

Ed Cai led Penn with six sacks this season to earn his first All-CSFL honor, adding two forced fumbles and an interception. For Stu Helgeson, his first All-CSFL selection came after leading the League in tackles with 62. His 44 solo tackles were also most in the CSFL.

Penn All-CSFL Selections

First Team
Michael Bass (WR)
Mike Beamish (RB, P)
Ed Cai (DL)
Brendan Dale (TE)
Stu Helgeson (DB)
Donnie Kneisel (OL)

Second Team
Jordan Colbert (OL)
Robert Diorio (LB)
Mike McCurdy (QB)
Freddy Ordonez (WR)
Matt Pellegrino (LB)

Honorable Mention
Patrick Boyle (DL)
Keith Braccia (WR, DB)
Andrew Donald (WR)
Jack Epstein (WR)
Chris Nagle (OL)
Matthew Paige (OL)
Joe Raso (RB)
Nick Rush (DB)
Derek Shnider (LB)
Carl Wittig (DL)
Wesley Zhao (DB)