Sprint Football Hands Out Annual Awards

2004 Banquet Photos

The University of Pennsylvania sprint football team officially closed the books on the 2004 season by handing out team awards at the annual banquet on Dec. 5. The Quakers announced at the event that juniors Ben Drane, Kevin Piro, Duncan Pelly and Hank Watson would serve as team captains for the 2005 season.

Senior Patrick Monaghan, coming off a historic final campaign, picked up three awards on the evening. He was the recipient of the Lt. Charles Schmucker Award given to those who exhibit the qualities of an ideal sprint football player. He also was presented with the Timothy Ortman Most Outstanding Offensive Back and Receiver Awards as well as the Special Teams Award. Monaghan broke the Penn single-season receiving yardage record of 451 set by Jack Welsh, ending the season with 572 yards. It was the second record he broke in 2004 as he became the career receiving yards leader, finishing with 1,346 career receiving yards.

The Red and Blue introduced a new award, the Benjamin F. Wagner Spirit Award. The inaugural honor was named for Head Coach Bill Wagner’s father, an avid Quakers fan, who passed away earlier this season. The award recognizes the team member that exhibits the most spirit and dedication to the sprint football program. The first recipient of the award was senior co-captain Doug Pires. The senior, along with Nick Kopec, also garnered the Dr. Paul M. Mitchell Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award.

Senior Mike Russo earned the Robert J. Mongeluzzi Award for Outstanding Defensive Back while rookie Mike Sanders was given the Thomas Stillwell Award for Most Outstanding Freshman. Quarterback Mike Loguidice and lineman Nick Dinges earned the Most Improved Offensive and Defensive Player Awards.

Drane along with senior Adam Schlosser were both honored with the Dan Doheny Award for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, while seniors Doug Pires and Nick Kopec were given the Dr. Paul M. Mitchell Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award.

Russo, Monaghan, Kopec (DL), Drane and Loguidice were named first-team Collegiate Sprint Football League (CSFL). Pires earned second-team status, while Schlosser, Pelly, Watson, Dinges and Sanders were given CSFL honorable mentions.

The Quakers, runners-up in the CSFL with a 2-2 mark, finished the year with a 4-2 overall record and brought home the third-consecutive William Wagner Trophy given to the top Ivy League team in the CSFL.

-Written by Kelly McCarthy, athletic communications assistant.