Sprint Football Holds 2012 Banquet

PHILADELPHIA - The sprint football team held its annual banquet at Houston Hall on December 2, reliving the 2012 season and all the success that the team achieved this past season. Penn wrapped up the year with 25 All-CSFL selections to close out the 2012 sprint football season, with four of those selections earning first-team All-CSFL honors. The team's eight members of the senior class were also recognized.

After the captains - Shane Curry, Chris Twombly, Whit Shaw, and Anthony DiBella - gave their speeches, it was time to hand out the awards for outstanding performances and contributions throughout the season.

Robert "Mack" Pierson and Donnie Kneisel were honored with the Thomas Stilwell Award, presented to the most outstanding freshman. Pierson had an astounding 42 total tackles in 7 games played with 24 of them being solo tackles. He also forced 2 fumbles. Kneisel stepped in immediately to serve as center on an offensive line which blocked for the CSFL's leading rusher.

Shane Curry, another member of the offensive lne, received the Dan Doheny Award for outstanding offensive line play.

Robert "Mack" Pierson received the Dr. Paul M. Mitchell Award for outstanding play along the defensive line. Pierson, a second-team All-CSFL selection, registered nine sacks and 16 total tackles for loss in his freshman season.

The Robert J. Mongeluzzi Award for the outstanding defensive back/linebacker went to Anthony DiBella. A first-team All-CSFL choice, DiBella led the team with 53 tackles, also coming up with three interceptions, four passes defended and two forced fumbles.

Whit Shaw was the recipient of the Lt. Charles Schmucker Award as the Ideal Sprint Football Player and the Timothy Ortman Award for the most outstanding offensive back/receiver. Penn's all-time leading receiver, Shaw led the team in receptions as well as receiving yards again with 33 receptions for 488 yards and 10 touchdowns. Shaw also had 1 rushing touchdown.

Kai Peng was honored as the Most Improved Offensive Player. Peng caught 12 passes for 105 yards in 7 games of play. Peng also completed 4 of 5 field goals and was 1 of 2 with PATs.

Jose Nino Domond was named the Dan Harrell Award recipient for the most improved player on the defensive side of the ball. Domond had a total of nine tackles, six of them being solo tackles in the six games that he played.

The Outstanding Special Teams Player award went to Mike Beamish. A huge factor in the punting game, Beamish had 42 punts for an average of 38.1 yards, pinning opponents inside their 20 on 12 occassions.

Anthony DiBella and Shane Curry were the recipients of the Benjamin F. Wagner Spirit Award. Key components of the emotional side of the game, DiBella and Curry served as captain and were instrumental in rallying the team during the preseason and the grind of the regular season.

Sprint Football Award Winners
Sean Madden Captains Award: Shane Curry, Chris Twombly, Whit Shaw, and Anthony DiBella
Dan Doheny Award (Outstanding Offensive lineman): Shane Curry
Timothy Ortman Award (Outstanding Offensive back/receiver): Whit Shaw
Dr. Paul M. Mitchell (Outstanding Defensive lineman): Robert "Mack" Pierson
Robert J. Mongeluzzi (Outstanding Defensive back/linebacker): Anthony DiBella
Thomas Stilwell Award (Outstanding freshman): Robert "Mack" Pierson and Donnie Kneisel
Most Improved Offensive Player Award: Kai Peng
Dan Harrell Award (Most improved defensive player): Jose Nino Domond
Special Team Award: Mike Beamish Benjamin F. Wagner Spirit Award: Anthony DiBella and Shane Curry
Lt. Charles Schmucker Award (Ideal Sprint Football player): Todd Busler
John MacAdams Award (Communications): Chas Dorman
Larry Paster Athletic Training Award: Sarah Foley