Three Men's Lacrosse Players Earn All-Ivy

PHILADELPHIA - The Ivy League has announced its 2008 All-Ivy teams for men’s lacrosse, and Penn is represented by three players receiving honors by vote of the seven conference coaches. Junior attack Craig Andrzejewski received first-team All-Ivy honors, while freshman midfield Al Kohart was a second-team honoree and senior Max Mauro received honorable mention.

Andrzejewski is the first Penn player to earn first-team All-Ivy since Will Phillips and Patrick Connelly in 2004. He led the Quakers with 23 goals and 40 points, and was second on the team with 17 assists. Among Ivy players, Andrzejewski was third in points per game, fourth in assists per game, and eighth in goals per game. He had a team-leading seven multi-goal games, and at least two points in all but two contests this season. Andrzejewski -- who became the latest member of Penn’s 100-point club at Towson on April 26 -- was also fifth on the squad with 18 ground balls.

Kohart -- who was a two-time Ivy League Rookie of the Week (3/3, 3/17) -- finished third on the team with 19 goals and 26 points, and was the only Penn player to score in every game this season. He had five multi-goal outings, led Penn and the Ivy League with 103 shots, and also had 17 ground balls.

Mauro was the anchor of a young defensive unit this season, serving as the lone senior among sophomores. He started every game on close defense, recording 17 ground balls and five caused turnovers.

Not surprisingly, the All-Ivy first team was dominated by co-champions Cornell and Brown-- the Big Red had four first-teamers, while the Bears had three. Brown goalkeeper Jordan Burke was selected by the coaches as the Ivy League Player of the Year, while Princeton attack Jack McBride was the Ivy League Rookie of the Year.


Player of the Year
Jordan Burke, Brown (Jr., Potomac, Md.)

Rookie of the Year
Jack McBride, Princeton (Fr., Madison, N.J.)

FIRST TEAM (* unanimous selection)
Thomas Muldoon, Brown (So., Oakton, Va.)
Ryan Hurley, Cornell (So., Eagan, Minn.)*
Ari Sussman, Dartmouth (So., New Haven, Conn.)
Craig Andrzejewski, Penn (Jr., Parkton, Md.)

John Glynn, Cornell (Sr., Lindenhurst, N.Y.)*
Max Seibald, Cornell (Jr., M, Hewlett, N.Y.)*
Jason Duboe, Harvard (So., Long Grove, Ill.)*

Reed Deluca, Brown (Sr., New Canaan, Conn.)
Matt Moyer, Cornell (Jr., Chadds Ford, Pa.)
Dan Cocoziello, Princeton (Sr., Oldwick, N.J.)*

Jordan Burke, Brown (Jr., Potomac, Md.)*

Tom Davis, Princeton (Jr., Levittown, N.Y.)
Tyler Casertano, Yale (Sr., Millbrook, N.Y.)

Zach Caldwell, Brown (So., Yarmouth, Maine)
Al Kohart, Penn (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.)
Bob Schneider, Princeton (Sr., Malvern, Pa.)

Casey Hingtgen, Dartmouth (So., Carlsbad, Calif.)
Max Gottschall, Harvard (Jr., Swampscott, Mass.)
Sam Slaughter, Harvard (Jr., Wilton, Conn.)

Alex Hewit, Princeton (Sr., Chatham, N.J.)

Jack McBride, Princeton (Fr., Madison, N.J.)
Brendan Gibson, Yale (So., Point Lookout, N.Y.)

John Espey, Cornell (Sr., Commack. N.Y.)
Chad Gaudet, Dartmouth (Sr., Burlington, Mass.)
Greg DuBoff, Yale (Sr., McLean, Va.)

Nick Gradinger, Cornell (Jr., Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)
Max Mauro, Penn (Sr., Pound Ridge, N.Y.)
Chris Peyser, Princeton )Jr., Manhasset, N.Y.)
Pet Grimm, Yale (Sr., Annapolis, Md.)