Toast Toss Now One Step from Final Four

Traditions Tournament Bracket


PHILADELPHIA - For the second straight week, the University of Pennsylvania's beloved toast toss tradition held the overwhelming majority in the voting and advanced in the College Football Traditions Tournament. Penn garnered 61 percent of the second-round vote over Mississippi State's Cow Bells and will now take on West Virginia's Country Road tradition. The winner advances to the Final Four. You can vote for the Quakers here.

Penn was one of 32 schools selected for the tournament to decide college football's best tradition. One of the most unique traditions in sports, the toast tossreceived more first round votes (2,833) than any other school.

As the only FCS school in the tournament and a No. 8 seed, the toast toss beat No. 1 seeded Florida State's Chief Osceola and the flaming spear in the first round with 71 percent of the vote. In Round 2, the toss held 61 percent of the vote over No. 5 seed Mississippi State's cow bells.

Elite Eight voting against West Virginia takes place through July 19. #Vote Toast here.

The toast toss takes place after the third quarter of home football games where Quaker fans unite in the singing of "Drink a Highball." As the last line is sung - "Here's a toast to dear old Penn" - the fans toss toast onto the sidelines.

Toast covers the track surrounding the field and the beloved “Toast Zamboni” sweeps up the bread. A group of engineering students modified Penn’s motorized turf cleaner so it would be able to pick up larger pieces of trash, and the "Toast Zamboni" is now a permanent fixture at Penn football games.

Originally, fans literally drank a highball, but the act of throwing toast was adopted after alcohol was banned from the stadium in the late 1970s. Students turned towards bread, and even bagels, so that they could continue to raise a "toast" to Penn.

The first toast toss at historic Franklin Field this season will be Sept. 21 when Quakers begin their defense of the Ivy title against Lafayette. It will mark the 119th season at Franklin Field - the nation's oldest collegiate football stadium.