Track and Field Honors Seniors, Award Winners

Follow @PennTrack

PHILADELPHIA - Shortly following the 2016 Outdoor Heptagonal Championships, the University of Pennsylvania track and field teams honored their seniors and yearly award winners on Monday night.

Ashley Montgomery was named a double honoree as MVP in both cross country and track. Montgomery was a First Team All-Ivy selection in cross country, placed fifth at the 2015 Heps Championship in the fall and was an individual qualifier for the NCAA Championships in cross. She continued that excellence into the winter and spring by placing second in the DMR and mile at indoor Heps and was sixth in the 1,500 meters last weekend at outdoor Heps.

Taylor McCorkle (track) and Kelsey Hay (field) were also MVP selections in both track and field events. McCorkle became the school record holder in the 60 meters (indoors), 100 meters (outdoor) and tied the school record in the 200 meters (outdoor). Additionally, she had a hand in six top-10 records in Penn history during her sophomore season. Hay earned her third-straight Heps championship in the javelin last weekend to continue her storied collegiate career. She currently owns the 18th best throw in the NCAA East Region following the weekend of competition.

Thomas Awad earned the men's cross country and track & field MVP honors for the second straight year. For just the third time in Penn history, the Quakers boasted an indoor track and field All-American when he placed third at NCAA’s in the mile in early March. Prior to his NCAA indoor championship performance, Awad broke the Ivy League record in the mile at the Millrose Games. Awad also had an outstanding cross country season where he finished 14th at the NCAA Championships en route to All-America laurels.

Sam Mattis was named team MVP in the field events for the men. The discus school record holder set numerous top marks this spring when he threw the then-world’s best toss (67.45m) at the Philadelphia College Classic. Additionally, he became a four-time outdoor Heps champion over the weekend and set a new meet record in the discipline at 62.45 meters. He is currently on the Bowerman Award Watch List and is a two-time USTFCCCA National Athlete of the Week.

Imani Solan, Rachel Wilson and Calvary Rogers won Rookie of the Year accolades and Most Improved honors went to Clarissa Whiting, Ella Wurth, Sean Ryan and Chris Hatler.

As for two of the most coveted awards, the James P. Tuppeny Leadership Award went to Keaton Naff while the Betty J. Costanza Leadership Award was won by Taylor Hennig.

In addition, the 11 women's seniors – Gillian Berger, Carey Celata, Gabrielle Cuccia, Amy Darlington, Ariel Fieldman, Elyssa Gensib, Serena Graf, Kelsey Hay, Taylor Hennig, Rachel Hlatky and Shannon McCarthy -- as well as the 13 men's seniors – Thomas Awad, Ben Bowers, John Li, Drew Magaha, Sam Mattis, William Meadows, Keaton Naff, Thomas Pitt, Harrison Scharf, Brandon Senior, Clark Shurtleff, Brendan Smith and Kirk Webb -- were all recognized for their four years in the Red and Blue stripes.

2016 Team Award Winners
MVP XC: Thomas Awad
MVP Track: Thomas Awad
MVP Field: Sam Mattis
MVP Freshmen: Calvary Rogers
Most Improved: Sean Ryan, Chris Hatler
James P Tuppeny Leadership Award: Keaton Naff

MVP XC: Ashley Montgomery
MVP Track: Taylor McCorkle, Ashley Montgomery
MVP Field: Kelsey Hay
MVP Freshman: Imani Solan, Rachel Wilson
Most Improved: Clarissa Whiting, Ella Wurth
Betty Costanza Leadership Award: Taylor Hennig

2016-17 Team Captains:
Men’s Track and Field: Noah Kennedy-White, Chris Hatler
Men’s Cross Country: Brendan Shearn
Women’s Track and Field: Taylor McCorkle, Ashley Montgomery
Women’s Cross Country: Isabel Griffith