Twenty Named All-League in Sprint Football

PHILADELPHIA - Twenty members of the University of Pennsylvania sprint football team have been named All-CSFL, including six first-team selections. It is the largest contingent of Quakers to be named to all-league since 2000, when 29student-athletes earned All-CSFL status.

The selections are highlighted by six first-team members: seniors Ben Drane, Nick Kopec, Scott Pickett, Kevin Piro, and Peter Stine, and junior David Lopez. For Drane, it was his fourth All-CSFL nod after earning first-team honors last year, and Lopez was anhonorable mention team member in 2004.

Seniors Cory Higa and Duncan Pellyand junior J.T. Hutchinson, and each earned second-team honors. It was the first honor for Higa, second for Pelly and third for Hutchinson.

Ten Quakers earned All-CSFL Honorable Mention status: seniors Jordan Cloyd, David Derr, Greg Herman, Hank Watson and Adam Wolfson, juniors Nick Dinges and Mike Loguidice, and freshmen Christian Corrigan, Mike D’Angelo and Andrew Feigenbaum. Cloyd andDerr will graduate as four-time honorees. Loguidice is a two-time honoree, while Herman,Waston, Wolfson, and Dinges earned their first all-league nods.

The sprint football team finished their season at 3-3 overall, earning a share of the William R. Wagner Trophy, awarded to the Ivy League team with the best overall record.

Written by Tim Flynn, athletic communications assistant.