Two Penn Women Earn Tewaaraton Nominations

PHILADELPHIA - The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2009 men's and women's nominees for the Tewaaraton Trophy, and the Penn women’s team has two of them – juniors Ali DeLuca and Emma Spiro.

Nominees were selected by coaches across all three divisions. These nominees are one step closer in the pursuit of the Tewaaraton Trophy, which will be given to one deserving female and male at the 9th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 28, 2009.

DeLuca was on the original watch list, put out prior to the season by the Tewaaraton Foundation. Spiro, however, is a new name to the list of 25 women.

A second-team All-America last year, DeLuca leads Penn this season with 27 goals and is second with 37 points. The 2007 Ivy League Rookie of the Year has had two five-point games this season, two four-point outings, and five other games with three points.

Spiro, meanwhile, has blossomed into one of the best all-around players in college lacrosse. She is third on the team with 24 goals and fifth with 27 points, including three four-point games and five others with at least two points. In addition, she leads the team and is 16th nationally in draw controls per game, and also leads Penn in ground balls. Finally, Spiro plays a key role in Penn’s stingy defense (a nation-leading 4.85 goals-against average). As a sign of her versatility, Spiro was the Ivy League co-Offensive Player of the Week on March 30; one week later, she was the Ivy League’s Defensive Player of the Week.

Penn (13-0) is ranked third in the latest IWLCA national coaches poll, and clinched its third straight undefeated Ivy League campaign Saturday with a 14-4 win at Brown. The Quakers roll into Evanston, Ill., this weekend for a showdown against No. 1 and undefeated Northwestern (15-0).

Women's Nominees
Bowen, Hilary (Northwestern)
Bullard, Sarah (Duke)
Byers, Jillian (Notre Dame)
Cryer, Caroline (Duke)
Dalton, Sarah (Boston University)
Davis, Carolyn (Duke)
DeLuca, Ali (Penn)
Downing, Sarah (Vanderbilt)
Falcone, Amber (North Carolina)
Ford, Molly (Georgetown)
Hagerty, Kelly (Ohio State)
Johnson, Karri Ellen (Maryland)
Kaestner, Ashby (Georgetown)
Lathrop, Morgan (Northwestern)
McFadden, Caitlyn (Maryland)
McGarvie, Holly (Princeton)
Mollison, Sarah (Maryland)
Nielsen, Hannah (Northwestern)
Ray, Rachel (Adelphi)
Rowan, Katie (Syracuse)
Russell, Jenn (North Carolina)
Spiro, Emma (Penn)
Tochihara, Erin (Princeton)
Wadland, Julie (Dartmouth)
Weymouth, Blair (Virginia)

Men's Nominees
Abbott, Matt (Syracuse)
Billings, Garrett (Virginia)
Bitter, Billy (North Carolina)
Blevins, Jeremy (UMBC)
Bratton, Shamel (Virginia)
Burke, Jordan (Brown)
Card, Jay (Hofstra)
Corp, Brandon (Colgate)
Crotty, Ned (Duke)
Glading, Danny (Virginia)
Glynn, John (Cornell)
Greer, Zack (Bryant)
Hardy, Dan (Syracuse)
Koppens, Shane (Loyola)
Kovler, Mark (Princeton)
McBride, Jack (Princeton)
Nims, Kenny (Syracuse)
Schneider, Doc (Massachusetts)
Seibald, Max (Cornell)
Timms, Michael (Virginia)
Rodgers, Scott (Notre Dame)