Valenti and Pottruck Named to EIWA Hall of Fame

Follow @PennWrestling

PHILADELPHIA – The University of Pennsylvania will host the 2014 EIWA Championships in The Palestra on March 8-9, and the annual EIWA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies which take place in conjunction with the championship finals will have a decided Red and Blue tint as two of Penn Wrestling’s most recognizable names will earn induction.

The EIWA Hall of Fame Committee announced the Class of 2014 on Monday, and David Pottruck W’70, WG ’71 and Matt Valenti C’07 comprise one half of the induction group, marking the ninth and tenth members of the Penn Wrestling program to join the now 120-member EIWA Hall of Fame.

From the EIWA release:

In 2006, Matt Valenti became the University of Pennsylvania’s third national champion in school history. The following year, he joined Dick DiBattista as the Quakers’ only two-time NCAA champions. He was just the third EIWA two-time national champion of the prior two decades. In Valenti’s first two entries at Nationals, he reached the Round of 12 as a freshman, then earned fifth place the following year.

A three-time EIWA champion after placing third as a freshman, Valenti was twice named EIWA Wrestler of the Year. As a senior, he was a unanimous selection as Ivy League Wrestler of the Year. Valenti is Penn’s all-time leader in wins with 137 and is co-owner of Penn records for wins in a season (36, achieved twice) while holding second place all-time in falls in a season (11).

Graduating from Kittatinny (NJ) high school in 2002, Valenti was a two-time New Jersey state champion, National High School runner-up, Junior National Freestyle Champion, Cadet National All-American and Second-team ASICS All-American.

Among post-graduate freestyle honors, Valenti won the bronze medal at 60 kg at the Pan-American Championships and also third place for the LVAC at the 2009 U.S. National Open. He also placed fourth at a U.S. World Team Trials, in a weight class featuring five former or future World Team members.

Since graduating from Penn’s College of Arts and Sciences, Valenti first served as an assistant coach at Columbia University, where he coached the Lions’ first EIWA champion since 1995. He has been a member of Penn’s coaching staff since July, 2009.

David Pottruck was a standout member of the Penn football and wrestling teams, serving as captain in both sports. In wrestling he placed second in the EIWA at 190 pounds in 1969 and fourth in 1970, as the Quakers' highest finisher both years. Pottruck graduated with honors from The Wharton School, earning a BS in 1970 and a Wharton MBA in 1971.

As a leader in the business world, Pottruck has been a director of Intel since 1998 and Chairman and CEO of Red Eagle Ventures, Inc., SF, CA, a private equity firm since 2005. Pottruck is also Co-Chairman of Hightower Advisors, a $15 Billion adviser-owned Wealth Management company. He has been an advisory board member of Diamond Technology and Management Consultants, Inc., a publically held consulting firm, since 2004. In 2004, Pottruck resigned from the Charles Schwab Corporation, after a 20-year career where he served as President, CEO, and board member.

He has been a board member of numerous companies and organizations, including United States Trust Company of NY, The Golf Network, McKesson HBOC Corporation, The NASDAQ Stock Market, Inc., the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Team Foundation. He was named CEO of the Year by Morningstar and in 2000 co-authored a best-selling book, “Clicks and Mortar-Passion-Driven Growth in an Internet- Driven World.”

Pottruck has served as Senior Fellow in the Wharton School of Business Center for Leadership and Change Management since 2004 and teaches in Wharton’s MBA and Executive Education programs. He has held adjunct faculty positions at five universities. He serves as a Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania.

The Induction Ceremony will be held at 3:45 p.m. on Sunday, March 9 before the championship finals of the 110th EIWA Championships which will begin at 4 p.m. Joining Valenti and Pottruck in the Class of 2014 will be Cornell’s Kyle Dake, a four-time NCAA champion for the Big Red, and Harvard’s Jesse Jantzen, a three-time EIWA champion and 2004 NCAA champion.

Ticket information for the 2014 EIWA Championships will be released later this week by the University of Pennsylvania.