Valenti Named EIWA Co-Wrestler of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - Just days after capping his career with his second NCAA championship, senior Matt Valenti has been named the EIWA Wrestler of the Year for the second time.

Valenti shares the honor with American's Josh Glenn, who won the 197-pound title Saturday. Valenti is the first wrestler to ever win the awardtwo yearsin a row, and the second overall to earn it twice along with Cornell's Travis Lee, who wonin 2003 and 2005.

Valenti defended his NCAA championship at 133 pounds Saturday when he beat Oklahoma State's Coleman Scott, 4-2. A three-time EIWA champion and four-time finalist, he concludes his career with a program-best 137-21 record and a 20-match win streak. He was also named the unanimous Ivy League Wrestler of the Year before the NCAA Championships.

He is just the second Penn wrestler to win two national titles, joining Dick DiBatista, who captures 175-pound crowns in 1941 and 1942.

J.P. O'Connor, a 149-pounder from Harvard, was named EIWA Freshman of the Year after an NCAA fifth-place finish.