Women's Basketball Releases 2013-14 Schedule

PHILADELPHIA — Highlighted by a home game against Notre Dame and a New Years matchup at Miami, the University of Pennsylvania women's basketball team and fifth-year head coach Mike McLaughlin announced the remainder of their 2013-14 schedule on Wednesday.

"We have a lot of challenges in the non-conference portion of our schedule," McLaughlin said. "Our league is as good as its ever been and we need to prepare overselves the best we can heading into Ivy competition."

Ten games will come against teams that went to the postseason last year, including six against NCAA Tournament teams - one of which went to the Final Four. In addition, Battle of 33rd Street rival Drexel won the WNIT last season.

Penn will open the 2013-14 campaign on Nov. 9 when St. Francis Brooklyn comes to Philadelphia. Following that game, the Quakers will take Thanksgiving break to prepare for a Nov. 23 date at The Palestra with the Fighting Irish. More details on that matchup arehere.

Big 5 competition will begin for the Red and Blue when they travel to La Salle on Nov. 30. They will then return to The Palestra on Dec. 5 when LIU Brooklyn comes to visit. Two days later the Quakers travel to Lewisburg, Pa. (Dec. 7) for a match up with Bucknell. Penn defeated all three of those teams last year, including an overtime nailbiter at The Palestra against the Bison.

Penn will return to The Palestra for two home games in 10 days. Army will be first on Dec. 11, followed by a visit from defending WNIT champion Drexel on Dec. 21.

The Quakers return from winter break on New Year's Day for another tough non-conference contest, this time on the road in Coral Gables, Fla. at Miami. Following the game against the Hurricanes, Penn travels back home on Jan. 5 to face Norfolk State in a rematch of last year's season opener. A few days later, the Red and Blue head to Maryland for a matchup with Morgan State (Jan. 8).

Ivy League play begins when Princeton visits The Palestra for a Jan. 11 contest. The Quakers follow up their league opener with three straight road Big 5 games. Penn will first travel to Villanova for a Jan. 15 matchup, then visits Saint Joseph's on Jan. 17 and finishes the road swing up Broad Street at Temple on Jan. 22. Following Big 5 play, NJIT will visit Philadelphia on Jan. 25 for Penn's final non-conference game of the regular season.

Dartmouth (Jan. 31) and Harvard (Feb. 1) will travel to The Palestra for a pair of home games for Penn on the first Ivy weekend. The Quakers follow that up with a weekend in upstate New York at Cornell on Feb. 7 and at Columbia on Feb. 8.

The Red and Blue return home for two games the following weekend as Yale (Feb. 14) and Brown (Feb. 15) travel south to Philadelphia. After its two-game homestand, Penn hits the road on back-to-back weekends. It begins in Boston against the Crimson (Feb. 21), followed by a Feb. 22 meeting in Hanover, N.H., against the Big Green. One weekend later the Quakers will meet the Bears in Providence (Feb. 28), and then head to New Haven, Conn., to tip off against the Bulldogs (March 1).

Penn completes regular season play at The Palestra the following weekend when the Lions (March 7) and Big Red (March 8) head to Philadelphia. The regular season finale will be against the Tigers in Princeton, N.J. on March 11.

Date Opponent Location Time (EST) Results Media
Sat, Nov 09 St. Francis Brooklyn The Palestra 2:00 p.m.
Sat, Nov 23 Notre Dame The Palestra 3:00 p.m.
Sat, Nov 30 La Salle at Philadelphia, Pa. TBA
Thu, Dec 05 LIU Brooklyn The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 07 Bucknell at Lewisburg, PA TBA
Wed, Dec 11 Army

The Palestra

7:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 21 Drexel The Palestra 2:00 p.m.
Wed, Jan 01 Miami at Coral Gables, Fla. 2:00 p.m.
Sun, Jan 05 Norfolk St The Palestra TBA
Wed, Jan 08 Morgan State at Baltimore, MD 5:00 p.m.
Sat, Jan 11 Princeton * The Palestra 5:00 p.m.
Wed, Jan 15 Villanova at Villanova, PA 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Jan 17 Saint Joseph's at Philadelphia, Pa. 7:00 p.m.
Wed, Jan 22 Temple at Philadelphia, Pa. 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Jan 25 NJIT The Palestra 5:00 p.m.
Fri, Jan 31 Dartmouth * The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Feb 01 Harvard * The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 07 Cornell * at Ithaca, NY 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Feb 08 Columbia * at New York, NY 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 14 Yale * The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Feb 15 Brown * The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 21 Harvard * at Boston, MA 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Feb 22 Dartmouth * at Hanover, NH 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 28 Brown * at Providence, RI 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 01 Yale * at New Haven, CT 7:00 p.m.
Fri, Mar 07 Columbia * The Palestra 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 08 Cornell * The Palestra 8:00 p.m.
Tue, Mar 11 Princeton * at Princeton, NJ TBA