Women's Crew Set for EAWRC Sprints

Sunday, May 14, 2006 - EAWRC Sprints
Cooper River - Camden, N.J.

THE RACE - It isn't quite the friendly confines of the Schuylkill River, but it's close enough. The Penn women's rowing team travels a few miles across the Ben Franklin Bridge to compete in the EAWRC Sprints Sunday on the Cooper River in Camden, N.J. The annual regattaserves as the qualifying run-up to the NCAA championships.


Novice 8 - Race 3, Lane5 - 8:20 a.m.
Second Varsity 8 - Race 6, Lane5 - 8:50 a.m.
Varsity 8 - Race 9, Lane 1 - 9:30 a.m.
Varsity 4 "A" - Race 12, Lane2 - 10 a.m.
Alumnae Final - Race 17, Lane 2 - 1 p.m.

In the morning heats, Penn's varisty 8 has been placed in race9, the third andfinal heat of the varsity 8, at9:30 a.m. The Quakers will race in lane 1, with George Washington, Yale, Dartmouth, Navy and Boston College rounding out the field.
The novice 8 will compete in race 3 at 8:20 a.m. against B.C., Columbia, Brown, Radcliffe and George Washington. The second varsity 8 will be in race 6 at 8:50 a.m. versus G.W., Syracuse, Princeton and Radcliffe. The Quaker varsity 4 will compete in race 12 at 10 a.m. against B.C., Princeton, Radcliffe and Columbia.
In addition, a Penn alumnae crew will compete against Brown, Dartmouth and Yale at 1 p.m.
For all heats, the top two finishers advance to the Grand Final, the next two to the Petite Final, and the balance to the 3rd Final. All finals take place in the afternoon.
The full Sprints schedule,including the afternoon final times, can be viewed on row2k.com by clicking here.
THE HISTORY - The Quakers' only Sprints title came back in 1980, when the varsity 8 went undefeated before winning the title. Since then, it has been a handful of big names that have dominated the regatta. Brown strung together a streak of five-straight titles from 1998 to 2002, while Radcliffe, Princeton and Yale, the defending champion,have all won multiple titles.

LAST YEAR - The Bulldogs of Yale took the title in 6:15.60, nearly three seconds ahead of Princeton. Penn took seventh place by virtue of winning the Petite Final for the first time since 1989 with a time of 6:31.3. The Quakers edged Northeastern by just 0.6 seconds to win.


First Varsity 8
B Kara Ellison
2 Sarah Burd
3 Dani Djokic
4 Annie Beitler
5 Kristen Haneman
6 Libby Mulligan
7 Valerie Hutchins
S Maura Kelley
C Jessica Bartos

Second Varsity 8
B Alana Kopke
2 Catie Vuksich
3 Gracie Kaplan-Stein
4 Marielle Conlon
5 Carolyn Thomas
6 Jackie McEwan
7 Laura Fox
S Emily Steele
C Zoe Reich

Varsity 4
B Erin McIntosh
2 Regina Houston
3 Katie Keate
S Allaire Corbett
C Maria Leonetti

First Novice 8
B Sara Clark
2 Liz Hathaway
3 Jesse Swirsky
4 Kristen Johnson
5 Christina Sims
6 Katie Purdy
7 Katie Chomiak
S Saibh Madden
C Kristine Kovacs