Women's Lacrosse Has Four Named to Tewaaraton Watch List

2010 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

PHILADELPHIA - The Greater Washington Sports Alliance announced the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy watch list this week, and a record four Penn women's lacrosse players are preseason candidates for the sport's highest honor.

All four are members of the Red and Blue's stellar senior class - Ali DeLuca, Courtney Lubbe, Emma Spiro and Emily Szelest.

"We are really excited for our program to be honored in the Tewaaraton watch list," head coach Karin Brower Corbett said. "These seniors have done a tremendous job the last three years contributing to the success of our program and it is great that their hard work is being honored."

DeLuca is now a three-time member of the list, having been chosen as a player to watch in 2008 and 2009 as well. Last year, she was a finalist for the award as part of her second-team All-America season. A first-team All-Region player all three season at Penn, DeLuca already has 12 goals this season, moving her into a third-place all-time at Penn with 112 goals. She also finds herself tied with 2007 grad Chrissy Muller for fourth place on Penn's all-time points list with 149.

Spiro was also a finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy last season after not being included on the preseason watch list. Spiro put together a first-team All-America season at midfield in '09, scoring 32 goals as part of a Co-Ivy League Player of the Year campaign.

Lubbe is on the watch list for the first time in her career after a breakthrough season in 2009. Her 26 goals, 16 assists and 42 points were all career highs as she started all 18 of Penn's games en route to first-team All-Ivy and All-Region honors. Already in 2010, she has one goal and a team-high eight assists.

Szelest also earned her first selection to the watch list after a 2009 season in which she led the NCAA in goals-against average at 6.11. She started all 18 games for the Quakers, and her save% of .477 was among the top 25 in the country.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance and is awarded to the men's and women's lacrosse player recognized as the pre-eminent player in the country for their achievements on the field.

The Quakers, ranked No. 3 in the country, are 2-1 this season and return to action in their home opener March 10 against Hofstra at 3 p.m. at Franklin Field.

Download: Tewaaraton Award Watch List Announced.pdf