Women's Squash Announces 2011-12 Schedule

Women's Squash Schedule

PHILADELPHIA - Coming off a fifth-place finish at the Howe Cup and returning eight of nine starters from a season ago, women's squash boasts a tough 2011-12 schedule that will challenge the team and prepare them for the CSA team and individual championships at the end of the season. The Quakers with face all nine of the other teams that finished last season in the top-10, along with the Walker Cup champion from last season.

The Ivy League scrimmages will be the first live action Penn will see this season. Hosted by Yale, the scrimmages will take place Nov. 12-13. The first official match of the season will be Nov. 30 when the Quakers take on cross-campus rival Drexel, which is in its first season as a varsity program.

In just the second match of the season, Penn will host Princeton on Dec. 3 in Ivy League play. Penn beat Princeton in the regular season last year, before losing to the Tigers in the Howe Cup. The following weekend, Penn will be home against Williams on Dec. 10.

After the non-conference match with Williams, the Quakers will have just over a month break from competition during the winter break. Two Ivy League road matches will await when the team returns to competition as Penn travels to Harvard on Jan. 14 and Dartmouth on Jan. 15. Harvard was the runner-up in the Howe Cup last season.

The Quakers return home on Jan. 19 for a non-conference match with Walker Cup champion Franklin & Marshall and will follow that up with another non-conference match at Trinity on Jan. 29. Trinity finished last season as the fourth-ranked team in the country.

The following weekend will see a busy slate for the women's team as it will play three matches in two days. On Feb. 4, Penn will host an Ivy League match with Brown, followed by a non-conference match with Stanford. The next day, Feb. 5, defending Howe Cup champion Yale comes to the Ringe Squash Courts for a noon match.

In the final weekend of the regular season, two final Ivy League matches await as the Quakers will host Columbia on Feb. 10 in the final home match of the season and finish the regular season on the road with Cornell on Feb. 12.

After a week away from competition while men's squash competes in their team championships, women's squash will take part in its team championships from Feb. 24-26. The team championships will be hosted by Harvard. The CSA individual championships will be held the following weekend, Mar. 2-4 at Amherst College to close out the 2011-12 season.

Date Opponent Location Time (EST) Results Media
Sat, Nov 12 -
Sun, Nov 13
Ivy Scrimmages at New Haven, Conn. All Day
Wed, Nov 30 Drexel at TBD 5 p.m.
Sat, Dec 03 Princeton * Ringe Courts 3:30 p.m.
Sat, Dec 10 Williams Ringe Courts 11 a.m.
Sat, Jan 14 Harvard * at Cambridge, Mass. 1 p.m.
Sun, Jan 15 Dartmouth * at Hanover, N.H. 11 a.m.
Thu, Jan 19 Franklin & Marshall Ringe Courts 5 p.m.
Sun, Jan 29 Trinity at Hartford, Conn. Noon
Sat, Feb 04 Brown * Ringe Courts 11 a.m.
Sat, Feb 04 Stanford Ringe Courts 5 p.m.
Sun, Feb 05 Yale * Ringe Courts Noon
Fri, Feb 10 Columbia * Ringe Courts TBA
Sun, Feb 12 Cornell * at Ithaca, N.Y. TBA
Howe Cup
Fri, Feb 24 Quarterfinals at Cambridge, Mass. All Day
Sat, Feb 25 Semifinals at Cambridge, Mass. All Day
Sun, Feb 26 Finals at Cambridge, Mass. All Day
CSA Individuals
Fri, Mar 02 CSA Individuals at Amherst, Mass. All Day
Sat, Mar 03 CSA Individuals at Amherst, Mass. All Day
Sun, Mar 04 CSA Individuals at Amherst, Mass. All Day
* Conference Games