Women's Track Opens Season at Quaker Invite


Philadelphia - The University of Pennsylvania women’ s track team opened the 2005 spring campaign hosting the Quaker Invitational on Saturday at Franklin Field. The Quakers won seven individual events, two relays and took the top-four spots in two events and a one-two punch in 400m run.

Leading the way were senior Izu Emeagwali and freshman Jesse Carlin ,who both won their individual events and two relays. Emeagwali took the top spot in the 400m in a time of 58.18, while Carlin claimed the 200m run in 26.13. Both were members of the winning 4x100m and 4x400m relay teams.

Also taking top prizes were sophomores Tina Morrison in the 1500m, Christina Chisholm in the shot put, Shani Boston in the long jump and Jeanette Curtis in the 100 high hurdles, and freshman Claire Kim in the 5, 000m. Morrison’s time in the 1500m of 4:35.8 ranks eighth in the Penn archives while Kim’s time in the 5,000m is the 10th fastest time in program history.

Penn had several student-athletes place in the top-three. Junior Lauren Davis took second in the pole vault (9’6.25”), freshman Shaunee Morgan was runner-up in the 400m (58.62), junior Charity Payne nabbed the second spot in the shot put (43’8.5”) and the javelin (120’08”), senior Claire Duncan placed second in the 5,000m (17:19.81), sophomore Jerri Kumalah was second in the long jump (16’8.75”), Boston was third in the shot put (41’5.25”) and javelin (117’10”), junior Dana McCurdy took third in the 800m run (2:14.77), freshman Stacy Kim took third in the 5,000m (17:45.18) and senior Sam Crook and freshman Brittany Middlebrook tied for third in the long jump (16’7.75”). Payne nabbed the third spot in the discus (126’03”)

The 4x100m relay team of Carlin, Morgan, Krysta Copeland and Emeagwali won in a time of 47.05, while the same four combined to take first in the 4x400m relay with a time of 3:52.98. The quartet Claire Kim, Stacy Kim, McCurdy and Jamie Liberti took second in the 4x800 in a time of 9:38.67.

The Quakers return to action on April 2 at the Maryland Invitational in College Park, Md. and the Cornell Invitational in Ithaca, N.Y.