Xin Named Ivy Rookie of the Year, Joins Ariffin as First-Team All-Ivy

Ivy League Release

PHILADELPHIA – For just the fifth time in program history, the Penn women’s squash team has one of its own recognized as the Ivy League Rookie of the Year. Yan Xin, a freshman, played the entire season as the Quakers’ No. 2 on the ladder, and added first-team All-Ivy honors to her ROY award. Additionally, tri-captain Nabilla Ariffin was named first-team All-Ivy for the third consecutive season.

Ariffin was a unanimous first-team selection in all three seasons. The senior compiled a 7-10 record this season, and was 2-4 in the Ivy League. The Penang, Malaysia native played every one of her matches for Penn in 2012-13 at the first position of the ladder, compiling a 6-8 record there in regular and postseason play.

During her time in the Red and Blue, Ariffin helped the Quakers finish second in the nation as a freshman, and this past season she was an integral part in helping Penn place third in the country. At the CSA Individual Championships, Ariffin advanced to the Round of 16 of the Ramsay (A) Division, where she fell to Danielle Letourneau of Cornell.

Xin joins the ranks of the Penn elite with her ROY award. The only other Quakers in program history to earn the award are four-time first-team All-Ivy players Kristen Lange (’10), Runa Reta (’03), Katie Patrick (’00) and the 1995-96 season’s National Individual champion Jessica DiMauro (’99). Xin compiled a 14-4 overall record and a 4-2 mark in Ivy play, which was tied for the second highest win total for Penn this season.

The Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia native compiled a 9-3 record at No. 2 for the Red and Blue, and was the team’s top finisher at the CSA Individual Championships. Xin advanced all the way to the Ramsay Division semifinals as the No. 5 seed, losing to eventual national champion and two-time Ivy League Player of the Year, Harvard’s Amanda Sobhy.

The CSA All-America teams and final individual rankings for the 2012-13 season will be released in the coming weeks, so make sure to check back with for more info.


Player of the Year
Amanda Sohby, Harvard*

Rookie of the Year
Yan Xin, Penn*

First Team All-Ivy
Danielle Letourneau, Cornell*

Jessenia Pacheco, Cornell
Amanda Sohby, Harvard*
Laura Gennell, Harvard
Haley Mendez, Harvard
Nabilla Ariffin, Penn*
Yan Xin, Penn*
Julie Cerullo, Princeton*
Elizabeth Eyre, Princeton*
Camilla Tomlinson, Yale*

* = denotes unanimous selection