Zack Rosen Named Big 5 Rookie of the Year

PHILADELPHIA - The Herb Good Basketball Club has announced its postseason awards for the 2008-09 basketball season, and Penn freshman Zack Rosen has been named the Dave Zinkoff Award recipient at the Big 5 Rookie of the Year. In addition, senior Kevin Egee will receive the Harry Merrill Sportsmanship Award.

This marks the second straight year that a Penn player has received the Zinkoff Award. Last year, Tyler Bernardini was the recipient -- Penn’s first since the Zinkoff came into being in 1999.

Both Rosen and Egee will be honored at the Herb Good Basketball Club’s 64th annual banquet, which will take place Monday at The Savoy (formerly the Woodbine Inn) in New Jersey.

Rosen had a stellar freshman campaign, leading the Ivy League in assists per game (5.0) and assist/turnover ratio (1.99). His 139 assists on the season put him eighth on Penn’s single-season list. Rosen also finished second in the Ivy League in free-throw percentage and third with 1.5 steals per contest. He appeared in all 28 games for the Quakers, and led the team with 27 starts, averaging 8.1 points and 3.4 rebounds per game. Rosen had 13 double-figure scoring games on the season, and dished out at least six assists in 11 different contests.

Egee also played in all 28 games for Penn this season, averaging 7.5 points and 2.3 rebounds per game. He finished among the Ivy League leaders in 3-point field goal percentage and had nine double-figure scoring games on the season. Also an Academic All-Ivy pick, Egee may have had the highlight of Penn’s season when he drained a 30-foot jump shot at the buzzer to beat Columbia in the second-to-last game of the season. Egee finished his career playing in 103 games, scoring 502 points, and collecting 169 rebounds. He also had 81 career assists and 51 steals.

In other awards that will be presented Monday, Jay Wright will receive the Harry Litwack Award for the Eastern College Coach of the Year; Villanova’s Dante Cunningham will be honored with the George Paulll Award as the Big 5’s Most Improved Player; teammate Scottie Reynolds will ge the Cy Kaselman Award as the Big 5’s most accurate foul shooter; and Dionte Christmas (Temple) will receive the Palumbo Award as the Big 5’s top scorer.

The Club will also honor Andre Iguodala with the Eddie Gottlieb Award as the outstanding 76er; Malcolm Ingram of Philadelphia University as the All-Philadelphia Player of the Year (non-Division I); as well as several non-Division I and high school players for their All-Philadelphia Area teams.